What is the difference between a heat exchanger and a heat sink?


Release time:

2023-12-08

In industrial applications, a heat sink typically refers to a miniature cooling device used to cool electronic chips. On the other hand, a heat exchanger is a device designed to transfer heat from a hot fluid to a cold fluid, meeting specific process requirements.

In terms of definition, a heat sink can refer to a heat-dissipating object, such as a metal block with fins, or it can also be a term used to describe any process of heat absorption or dissipation. A heat exchanger, on the other hand, is any device that allows heat exchange between two media.

For example, in industrial tube-and-shell heat exchangers, let's assume that the hot fluid is inside the tubes, and cooling water is circulating in the shell. Technically speaking, the cooling water, which receives the heat, can be referred to as a heat sink.

换热器和热沉 有什么区别?


发布时间:

2023-12-08

在工业上,热沉(heat sink)一般是指微型散热片,用来冷却电子芯片的装置。而换热器(heat exchanger) 则是用于使热量从热流体传递到冷流体,以满足规定的工艺要求的装置。

换热器和热沉 有什么区别?

在工业上,热沉(heat sink)一般是指微型散热片,用来冷却电子芯片的装置。而换热器(heat exchanger) 则是用于使热量从热流体传递到冷流体,以满足规定的工艺要求的装置。

从定义上来说,热沉可以指一个散热的物体,例如是带有散热片的金属块,也可以是描述任何热量吸收或散失的术语。而换热器则是两种介质之间进行热交换的任何设备。

比如工业上的管壳式换热器,假设热的流体在管中,冷却水在壳中。由于冷却水是接收热量的介质,技术上来说可以称为热沉。